First All Women Jury - Fountain County INGenWeb Project

Go to content

First All Women Jury

Source: Attica Fountain Warren Democrat - Thursday, July 19, 1923 -
thanks to Gary Campbell of the "You Know You're from Veedersburg, Indiana if "

Earl Mitchell of Veedersburg was found guilty of transporting liquor before a jury of 12 women in Mayor Ratcliff's court at Veedersburg last Thursday and was fined $100 and costs and was sentenced to six months in jail.

Mitchell had been tried on the same charge about 10 days before, a jury of men sitting in the case, and they failed to reach agreement.  The jury which convicted Mitchell is the first jury of women ever paneled in
Fountain County.  Mitchel (sic) has appealed the case to the circuit court.

The jury was composed of the following women: Mrs. J.L. Osborn; Mrs. Glover Crane; Mrs. Will Allen; Mrs. C.G. Wildt; Mrs. John Briner; Mrs. W.S. Overfield; Mrs. W.G. Stambaugh; Mrs. Mary A. Bonebrake; Mrs. W.E.
Swick; Mrs. I.N. Kerr; Mrs. E. A. Lambdin and Mrs. George VanDeVenter.

Note: the women in their own right are (but might be wrong - let me know if I have someone incorrect): -- as listed above: Olive DeAth Osborn; Florence Beebee Crane; Pearl Crane Allen (?); Mary Ludlow Wildt;
Josephine Scott Briner; Hattie Upton Overfield; Lillie Miller Stambaugh; Mary A. Bonebrake; Unknown Swick; Melissa Furr Kerr; Delila Wilkinson Lambdin; Effie Vandeventer

Back to content