Various articles on the **Horse Thief Detective Association**

Source: Crawfordsville Star, Dec 15, 1881 p 4

For the Alamo Detective company, the constables are: David Stonebraker; Daniel Smith; LF Brown; W. Brown; Abraham Snyder; Edmund Myers; John W. Snyder and Robert Titus.

The following constables were elected for the Sugar Creek Detective Company: CF Tribbett; Daniel Mahoy; Goerge Boots; George Little; Henry Smith; Noah Royer; RC Harper; Silas Dunbar; Harry Curtis; Marion Holloway; John Allen; John Pitmen; Charles MacGuire.

The following Constables were licensed for the Ladoga Horse Thief Company: Josiah Bradley; WH Burgess; Jerre Gish; Benj. Hymer; James Harris; Jo. Logan; Josiah Markly; Perry Nolan, Sr; Thomas Rose; Henry Rittinger; James Smith; Jas. Surade; Alvin Thompson; Daniel Thompson; FM Wright; SB Henkle; Jas. Minnich; Wm. Howard; Mark Thompson; Mark Tapp.

Source: Journal of the Wabash General Association of Detective Companies 27th Annual Convention @ Franklin, IN

The Officers (pres mainly with others noted) for the Ensuing Year for Montgomery County 1887-1888

Alamo - Newton Smith - JB Riley, Sec

Beech Grove - A.J. Royalty, John Harding Sec.

Black Creek - Thomas Steel - IM Lofland, Sec

Boston Store - JW Utterback - AM Dazey, Sec

Browns Valley - RG Crist - JH Simpson, Sec.

Council Grove - Jessie Hawthorne

Fairview - Henry Harding - HH Swindler, Sec

Fountain - JG Warfield - Wm. B. Maxwell, Sec

Franklin - James H. Stewart - Wm. J. Mullen, Sec.

Fredericksburg - Will Stafford - H. Morris, Sec.

Greenwood - AP Enoch - BF Welch, Sec

Herron - HM Billingsley - GF Hall, Sec

Howard - WT Watson

Knowledge Point - EC Mount - CH Bruce, Sec

Ladoga - Thomas Rose, - DB Hostetter, Sec

Mt. Tabor - John Line - Joseph Grubb, Sec

New Market - R. Fisher - JH Armantrout, Sec

New Richmond - Amos Ebrite - Ed T. McCrea, Sec.

Pleasant Valley - James Staniford

Ripley - George K. Fruits - John H. Smith, Sec

Shannondale - JS Lafollette - James A. Mount, Sec.

Stump - JM Stilwell - Robert Weir, Sec

Union - Alvin Breaks - Amos Breaks, Sec

Waveland - JH Banta

Waynetown - William Rider - Elston Sayers, Sec. *

Wesley - James McIntyre

West Union - Thomas Kelsey - Len Cochran, Sec

Whitesville - Jasper N. Davidson - LB Luster, Sec.

Yountsville - Benton Snyder - OD Smith, Sec.

* Note: In 1924, Waynetown still had one

Source: Crawfordsville Journal oh shucks missed the year but likely same time as one below - sorry

The Meharry Grove Association is making ample provision for a good times at the grove. The people may come with well-filled baskets expecting to have a good time. The Council Grove Horse Company at their recent meeting passed resolutions of condolence and respect over the death of John S. Gray, that venerable, infatigable pioneer of the Horse Thief Detective Association. The Association recommended the emulation of the noble deeds of his successful life.

===

Source: Crawfordsville Weekly Journal 14 June 1895 Last week at the meeting of the Council Grove Horse Thief Detective Association Mr. GN Meharry in an appropriate speech presented a gave to President SM Mick as an insignia of the office of president of Council Grove Minute Men. The gavel is made from a locust stump and root where half a century ago a few men met in the shade to council and originated the idea of the HTD. The gave was suggested by some of the members of the company and was made by Ira Meharry, son of GN, a student of Purdue. Mr. Meharry and his son were tendered a vote of thanks. The gavel is greatly appreciated by the company as a reminiscence of its pioneers, and will treasure it as a souvenir of its organization.