State Logo

Greene County, Indiana


Greene County, Indiana

Welcome to Green County, INGenWeb. Greene County was created from Daviess and Sullivan Counties. It has birth records from 1885 and death recods from 1893. The County Clerk has marriage records from 1821, Divorce, Probate and civil court records from 1820. The County Auditor has Indiana records from 1824. The County Clerk's office also has naturalization records from 1854-1906

I am Jordyn Porter-Meche and I manage the Greene County INGenWeb site. New updates will be coming to the site very soon, so stay tuned.

Thank you to the previous coordinator, Darlene Anderson!


Greene Was Established in 1821

Greene County, Indiana was established January 5, 1821 from land previously claimed by Daviess and Sullivan counties. The county seat is Bloomfield, located in Richland Township. Greene County was named for General Nathanael Greene, commander of the southern theater in the Revolutionary War, who eventually forced Charles Cornwallis to retreat to Yorktown.

Greene County has the following incorporated cities and towns: Bloomfield, Jasonville, Linton, Lyons, Newberry, Switz City, and Worthington.

Greene County has the following townships: Beech Creek, Cass, Center, Fairplay, Grant, Highland, Jackson, Jefferson, Richland, Smith, Stafford, Stockton, Taylor, Washington, and Wright.

The known beginning dates of county records:

  • Birth 1885
  • Marrage 1821
  • Death 1893
  • Court 1821
  • Land 1824
  • Probate 1823
  • Census 1807 (territorial census)



Quick Links
Contact Us

County Coordinator: Jordyn Porter-Meche

State Coordinator: Lena Harper

State Coordinator: Jim Cox

State Coordinator: Karen Zach

Questions or Comments?

If you have questions or problems with this site, email Jordyn Porter-Meche

usgenweb Greene County